SoCG 2025

SoCG 2025 PC

- Mikkel Abrahamsen, University of Copenhagen
- Oswin Aichholzer, Graz University of Technology (co-chair)
- Hugo Akitaya, University of Massachusetts Lowell
- Mark de Berg, Eindhoven University of Technology
- Sujoy Bhore, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
- Ahmad Biniaz, University of Windsor
- Håvard Bakke Bjerkevik, SUNY Albany
- Gerth Stølting Brodal, Aarhus University
- Hsien-Chih Chang, Dartmouth College
- Siu-Wing Cheng, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
- Vida Dujmović, University of Ottawa
- David Eppstein, University of California, Irvine
- Emily Fox, University of Texas at Dallas
- Jie Gao, Rutgers University
- Dan Halperin, Tel Aviv University
- Tao Hou, University of Oregon
- Francis Lazarus, Université Grenoble Alpes
- Chih-Hung Liu, National Taiwan University
- Daniel Lokshtanov, University of California Santa Barbara

- Anna Lubiw, University of Waterloo
- Amir Nayyeri, Oregon State University
- Eunjin Oh, Pohang University of Science and Technology
- Tim Ophelders, Utrecht University and TU Eindhoven
- Irene Parada, UPC BarcelonaTech
- Rahul Saladi, Indian Institute of Science
- Patrick Schnider, University of Basel and ETH Zürich
- Raimund Seidel, Saarland University
- Don Sheehy, North Carolina State University
- Shakhar Smorodinsky, Ben-Gurion University
- Jonathan Spreer, University of Sydney
- Takeshi Tokuyama, Kwansei Gakuin University
- Torsten Ueckerdt, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
- Pavel Valtr, Charles University
- Kasturi Varadarajan, University of Iowa
- Haitao Wang, University of Utah (co-chair)
- Jinhui Xu, University at Buffalo
- Jie Xue, New York University Shanghai



credits: Jeff Erickson

Paper statistics

225 submissions, second highest in history (235 last year)

78 papers accepted, 34.7% acceptance rate

best paper awardee invited to JACM

one paper invited to TheoretiCS

19 papers accepted the invitations to special issues in DCG and JoCG

	2020	2021	2022	2023	2024	2025
Location	Zürich (online)	Buffalo (online)	Berlin	Dallas	Athens	Kanazawa
Submitted	205	164	174	175	235	225
Accepted	70	58	64	61	83	78
Rate	34.1%	35.3%	36.8%	34.9%	35.3%	34.7%

Paper types

Paper Types	Submitted	Accepted	Rate
Algorithmic complexity	130	48	36.9%
Applications	22	5	22.7% (compared to 14.2% last year)
Mathematical foundations	114	37	32.5%
Experiments and implementation	27	9	33.3% (compared to 25.9% last year)
Overall	225	78	34.7%

Topics

Authors picked topics for their own papers Very helpful for paper bidding

Topics	Submitted	Accepted	Rate
overall	225	78	34.7%
algorithms in geometry and topology	119	35	29.4%
approximation algorithms	45	14	31.1%
arrangements	17	8	47.1%
clustering / learning	16	4	25.0%
computational geometry	127	42	33.1%
computational topology	45	13	28.9%
computer-aided design and manufacturing	5	1	20.0%
discrete and combinatorial geometry and topology	86	27	31.4%
distributed/parallel algorithms	4	1	25.0%
geographic information systems	3	2	66.7%

Торісѕ	Submitted	Accepted	Rate
geometric configurations	17	4	23.5%
geometric data structures	32	11	34.3%
geometric intersection graphs	18	11	61.1%
geometric modeling, visualization and simulation	7	1	14.3%
geometric puzzle analysis	3	0	0.0%
graph drawing	20	6	30.0%
high-dimensional geometry	31	11	35.5%
implementation and experimental evaluation of geometric algorithms	21	6	28.6%
parameterized algorithms and complexities	20	8	40.0%
persistent topology	33	13	39.4%
polygons	26	6	23.1%
randomized algorithms	18	9	50.0%
topological data analysis	46	13	28.3%

Authors

#Authors	Submitted	Accepted	Rate
1	20	5	25.0%
2	77	19	24.7%
3	67	28	35.7%
4	23	7	30.4%
5	21	12	57.1%
6	7	3	42.9%
7	4	1	25.0%
8+	6	3	50.0%

Double blind and PC submissions

Essentially followed the approach from the previous two years

Used HotCRP for handling COIs

PC members were blinded

PC co-chairs were unblinded to handle conflicts

PC members could submit, PC papers were not handled differently from other submissions

#PC submissions: 44; #PC accepted: 20; PC acceptance rate: 45.5% (compared to 44.1% last year)

Review process

Each paper was assigned to three PC members, but all PC members could comment on all papers (if no Col)

Cols handled through HotCRP and PC chairs

- Total number of subreviewers: about 334
- Total number of paper comments: 1281, which is 5.7 per paper on average

Tried to get as much information as possible early on

PC discussion summaries if needed

Thanks for a very active and diligent PC process!

Each paper has at least three reviews

The PC co-chairs have Zoom meetings at least twice a week during the paper review phase (meeting once every 1.5 weeks on average in the past year)

Awards

- Best paper award
- Best student paper award
- Best student presentation award (TBD, need your feedback)
- Outstanding (external) reviewer awards (20 chosen from 334)
 - Greg Aloupis (Northeastern University)
 - Robin Belton (Vassar College)
 - Jeff Erickson (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
 - Daniel Frishberg (California Polytechnic State University)
 - Matt Gibson-Lopez (University of Texas at San Antonio)
 - Xavier Goaoc (LORIA)
 - Haoqiang Huang (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology) •
 - Chaya Keller (Ariel University)
 - Linda Kleist (Universität Potsdam)
 - Stephen Kobourov (Technical University of Munich)

- Arnaud de Mesmay (Université Gustave Eiffel)
- Liz Munch (Michigan State University)
- Yoshio Okamoto (University of Electro-Communications)
- Bastien Rivier (Brock University)
- Morteza Saghafian (IST Austria)
- Frank Staals (Utrecht University)
-) Jack Spalding-Jamieson (Independent)
- Csaba D. Tóth (California State University Northridge)
- Mathijs Wintraecken (Inria Sophia-Antipolis)
- Da Wei Zheng (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Thanks!!!

- authors of all submissions
- PC members
- external reviewers
- local organizers
- previous PC chairs
- steering committee
- CG Society and the IT committee
- invited speakers Tomohiro Tachi and Meirav Zehavi
- proceedings chair Philipp Kindermann
- all who contributed to CG Week!